A New Thing…A New Name

I was reading Genesis 17 last week – God making a covenant with Abram changing his name to Abraham and God changing Sarai’s name to Sarah promising her a child. Immediately I thought of Saul becoming Paul and then the question, “Why does God give new names?”

As I pondered that question, I started thinking through the similarities between these 3 instances. In all 3 situations, God is doing a new thing. He is marking an inner transformation with a tangible, lasting reminder of the old passing away and the new being brought to life. 

God has done & is doing a new thing in us. Just as God made a covenant with Abraham, a promise to Sarah and a transformation in Paul. How has God marked His covenant with us? What name have we been given?

Wounded has been named Healed. (Isaiah 53:5)

Forsaken has been named Treasured. (2 Corinthians 4:7-9)

Lost has been named Found. (Luke 15:6-7)

Blind has been named Sight. (Psalm 146:8)

Unwanted has been named Child of God. (Galatians 3:26-27)

Depressed has been named Joy. (James 1:2-3)

Unloved has been named Chosen. (Ephesians 1:3-6)

Captive has been named Freedom. (2 Corinthians 3:17)

“See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up, do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.” -Isaiah 43:19

Author: emilymgalvan

Jesus follower. Wife and mom. My heart's desire is to be used by God. To live out the plan and purpose He has set out for me. To shine His light in the darkness. "Although my memory's fading, I remember two things very clearly: I am a great sinner and Christ is a great Savior." -John Newton

3 thoughts on “A New Thing…A New Name”

Leave a Reply

