Thoughts from the River – Part 1

Took myself on a weekend getaway to rest & recharge…

Rain Drop Cabin ~ Tuscumbia, MO ~ 10/8/2022


10:00am

What is it about sitting by the water that allows my worries and cares to completely slide right off my shoulders?

Sitting in this peaceful place. Sun on my face. Breeze blowing. Birds chirping. Fish splashing. Tears in my eyes. The words in my head are simply:

Thank You.

Thank You, God. For carrying me. Saving me. Sustaining me. Helping me survive.

Thank You for this place and this time. Thank You that this is EXACTLY what I needed. Thank You for this beauty. These birds. These fall colors.

Thank You for peace. Thank You for stillness. Thank You for rest.

Thank You for sunshine. For light and warmth.

Thank You.

Thank You.

Thank You.


10:45am

It’s interesting how fog makes things more beautiful. Like needing clouds in the sky to make a sunrise or sunset more breathtaking.

Is it the mysterious quality that makes fog so beautiful? And what does that mean for my life?

Could I find beauty when my path is shrouded by a fog?

Could I just stop and admire the mysteriousness of the mist surrounding me?

The way light can move and dance as the fog breaks and shifts. Could I see that in my own life?

Something to think about…


11:34am

What causes water to move?

The river was almost completely still this morning but now the current is starting to pick up.

The breeze is also a little stronger too.

Does wind cause a faster current?

Is this true in my life as well?

When the wind starts to pick up and I feel the pressure of the breeze on my back beginning to push a bit harder, am I being moved forward?

Even if I feel as though I’m stuck and stagnant. Am I really being pushed down river? Being moved further along the path?

Something else to think about…


11:46am

And then, 10 minutes later 2 fishing boats come through completely changing the flow and direction of the water.

The water splashes up. Waves roll and crash. Running and rippling towards the shore.

But then, a few minutes later and the current returns.

Flowing as before with no sign of disturbance.

Except for the lingering smell of the river having been shaken and stirred from it’s slumber.

And that muddy water smell in the air takes me right back to being a kid on the lake.

Boating. Swimming. Skiing. Laughing.

So many good memories.

Stirred up from the depths of my own slowly moving river.


1:55pm

It just occurred to me that this river is flowing to the east. I thought all rivers flowed south.

I Googled it and this is the first thing that came up:

Rivers flow in all directions because they follow the path of least resistance. The idea that all rivers flow south is mistaken thinking that often stems from people thinking that water flows towards the south because they equate the direction with 'down'.

And then apparently people often ask “What determines the direction a river flows?” and this is what Google had to say:

The direction of flow is determined mostly by the area's topography located between headwater (origin) and mouth (destination). Also, rivers not only follow one direction, some turn and twist in several directions.

Sounds a lot like life…


9:02pm

How do I end such a restful and peaceful day without dreading that it will be over tomorrow?

How do I carry the rest and relaxation and peace back home?

The rest and relaxation of today doesn’t mean there aren’t stresses and annoyances waiting for me at home. The stresses and annoyances don’t diminish or negate the rest and relaxation of today. The rest and relaxation today has allowed me to empty my basket of burdens and lighten my load. To be still and to sit quietly. To rest.

The expectation has always been now that my basket is empty, I can’t let anything come my way that will burden me and mess up the relaxation I found.

I see now that’s unrealistic.

The rest and relaxation today gives me the space to deal with what’s waiting at home. It gives me room to take a deep breath or even a couple of deep breaths and reset for whatever tomorrow and the next day holds.

The rest and relaxation today gives me the space to remember all I can focus on today is today. Tomorrow will take care of itself.

Today’s focus is gratitude. Rest. Peace.

Click here to read My Times Are In Your Hands (Thoughts from the River – Part 2)

Author: emilymgalvan

Jesus follower. Wife and mom. My heart's desire is to be used by God. To live out the plan and purpose He has set out for me. To shine His light in the darkness. "Although my memory's fading, I remember two things very clearly: I am a great sinner and Christ is a great Savior." -John Newton

One thought on “Thoughts from the River – Part 1”

Leave a comment